Sin is a Virus

I have recently had problems with my anti-virus software. I never had issues with it before. Even when I called it up to check and/or change my settings, the prompts on the screen would not take effect. After getting in touch with the manufacturer, I asked the agent to gain remote access so that he could see exactly what I was trying to describe to him. Once he did and ran a sort of diagnostic, we could both see that I had contracted a virus; one that over-rode my long-trusted software. The only way to fix it, I was told, was to have them back up all my files and programs, disable and remove the isolated virus, and then reload all my data. I am still debating whether to go forward with it due to the cost/ benefit analysis and the short term duration of the warranty.

Not long after being confronted with this news, the Holy Spirit began to let my spiritual eyes see what my natural eyes were tuned into but with God’s perspective. We need to understand through this real-life parable how this invasive, domineering, corruption known in both biological and technical lingo as a virus is all too relevant and familiarly devastating in the spiritual realm. It is called SIN, and there are many parallels. Although iniquity is localized in the human heart- much like the virus is contained in a specific area also (a program)- it metastasizes throughout a particular organ or even the entire body, as our diseases are often due to transgression or man’s fallen condition in general. But if it does not spread, its effects certainly reach far beyond its once physically-restricted point of origin. The same is most assuredly true of our sin nature. While people such as technicians may be able to eliminate a virus and restore a computer to proper working order, no such person outside of JESUS CHRIST who is G-d has the ability to cleanse and restore both the human heart and its host’s relationship to his or her Creator. Yet while I am the one who incurs the cost to repair my laptop, there is nothing I can do to pay the price of renewing my heart. Only my Lord and Savior would, could and did provide it to me free of charge; but it cost Him dearly!

Just as all my data, files and programs have to be removed in order to isolate and remove the virus, Jesus Christ willingly put aside His divine power in order to die in our place. Philippians 2: 5-8 says it this way, “…Christ Jesus, who, though He was in the form of G-d, did not count equality with G-d a thing to be grasped, but emptied Himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men. And being found in human form, He humbled Himself by becoming obedient to the point of death, even death on a cross.”

In like manner as I need to give consent to the technician to go forward with the process of restoring my computer to the way it was originally designed and made to function before it was corrupted by the malware, I also must recognize my need and allow the Redeemer of men’s souls to apply His saving blood and His powerful work on the cross to my sin-infected heart. I do this by acknowledging its condition and need of repair before Him humbly, sincerely and contritely (feeling and showing sorrow and remorse upon the Holy Spirit convicting me), asking for the forgiveness and cleansing He already desperately wants to give me, then receiving the gift of justification (being made right-eous with G-d), sanctification (to be set apart for His holy purposes), restoration (the act or process of returning something or someone to its originally designed condition by repairing or cleaning, the act of bringing something back that existed before) and eternal life (being enabled to spend forever in G-d the Father’s presence). In similar fashion to the newly-installed components in my laptop, Scripture tells us that G-d’s Holy Spirit now indwells us. 2 Corinthians 1:22 words it like this, “[G-d] …who has also put His seal on us and given us His Spirit in our hearts as a guarantee [down payment, deposit]” until the day of redemption.

So this horrible, pervasive virus called sin that has been part of us even before we were born because of our human connectedness to and inheritance from Adam and Eve’s act of disobedience (transgression, iniquity, sin), has been eradicated from its soul permeation by the design and plan of our merciful and compassionate Almighty G-d, through the willing, obedient, bloody and excruciating death of Jesus Christ the Lord! Hallelujah! All praise to His holy name!

If I knew my laptop could be restored fully and for free, I would truly be a fool not to take advantage of this marvelous, but time-limited offer. It is not only something I should do; it is something I MUST do. My life now and eternally depends on it. In the case of many, they actually like and prefer their corrupted laptop as it reveals in John 3:19, “And this is the judgment: the Light has come into the world, and people loved the darkness rather than the Light because their deeds were evil.” But as it is with only a few, “Enter by the narrow gate. For the gate is wide and the way is easy that leads to destruction, and those who enter by it are many. For the gate is narrow and the way is hard that leads to life, and those who find it are few” (Matthew 7: 13-14). And “Strive to enter through the narrow door. For many, I tell you, will seek to enter and will not be able” (Luke 13: 24).

G-d bless you and give you wisdom.

Leave a Reply

